78 police recruits join Queensland Police Service in fast-tracked ceremony

Source: Government of Queensland

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services the Honourable Mark Ryan MP and Deputy Commissioner Doug Smith have congratulated the latest round of police recruits to graduate from the QPS academy and enter the Service as First Year Constables. 

This is the second round of QPS recruits to have their graduation fast-tracked in the past week. 

Minister Ryan said 78 new First Year Constables would now join their fellow officers in the field, serving and protecting communities across Queensland. 

“I want to thank these new officers for their cooperation during the current circumstances, as they join their new colleagues across Queensland ahead of schedule,” Minister Ryan said. 

“It is crucial that our communities feel safe, now more than ever. 

“That is why the latest round of First Year Constables will be expected to uphold the high expectations of the service from the moment they step foot in their new stations.” 

Deputy Commissioner Smith said the new officers came from all walks of life with previous experience in many different professions. 

“These FYCs are bringing their own unique experiences and perspectives to the QPS,” Deputy Commissioner Smith said. 

“They have spent the past five months in intensive training, preparing them for their future careers in policing. 

“I wish every officer all the very best and am confident they will uphold the values of the Queensland Police Service.” 

The new First Year Constables will be initially deployed to the following areas: 



North Brisbane District 

Boondall Station 1 

Indooroopilly Station 1 

Carseldine Station 1 

Fortitude Valley Station 4 

Stafford Station 1 

South Brisbane District 

Capalaba Station 1 

Holland Park Station 2 

Upper Mt Gravatt Station 1 

Coorparoo Station 1 

Inala Station 1 

Acacia Ridge Station 1 

Cleveland Station 1 



Mackay District 

Mackay Station 4 

Bowen Station 1 

Whitsundays Station 1 

Sarina Station 1 

Capricornia District 

Rockhampton Station 2 

North Rockhampton Station 2 

Blackwater Station 1 

Emerald Station 1 

Wide Bay Burnett District 

Hervey Bay Station 3 



Townsville District 

Stuart Station 1 

Townsville Station 3 

Mundingburra Station 1 

Deeragun Station 1 

Kirwan Station 1 

Far North District 

Cairns Station 3 

Mareeba Station 2 



Logan District 

Browns Plains Station 1 

Beaudesert Station 1 

Beenleigh Station 2 

Crestmead Station 2 

Logan Central Station 2 

Loganholme Station 1 

Yarrabilba Station 1 

Gold Coast District 

Southport Station 2 

Coomera Station 1 



Moreton District 

Caboolture Station 4 

Burpengary Station 1 

Ipswich District 

Ipswich Station 1

Yamanto Station 1 

Goodna Station 1 

Karana Downs Station 1 

Springfield Station 1 

Darling Downs District 

Toowoomba Station 3 

South West District 

Dalby Station 2 

Kingaroy Station 2 

Roma Station 2 

Murgon Station 2 

Media contacts 

Minister Ryan’s Office: Ph: (07) 3035 8300

Police Media: Ph: (07) 3015 2444